Frito-Lay products: gluten status

Every Frito-Lay product we checked, with the verdict computed from its sources. Official site: www.fritolay.com

Last checked 2026-10-23

Gluten policy, in the maker's words

Not stated

Products

  • Doritos (Nacho Cheese) No gluten ingredients, not labeled Why: no gluten ingredients in the ingredient list and no gluten-free claim. Source date: USDA FoodData Central: 2023-08-31; USDA FoodData Central: 2023-11-16; GFCO certified product list: Not stated. Checked 2026-10-23.
  • Cheetos (Crunchy) Labeled gluten-free Why: maker says gluten-free. Source date: USDA FoodData Central: 2023-11-16; Maker: Not stated; GFCO certified product list: Not stated. Checked 2026-10-23.
  • Fritos (The Original corn chips) Labeled gluten-free Why: maker says gluten-free. Source date: USDA FoodData Central: 2023-03-16; USDA FoodData Central: 2023-10-26; USDA FoodData Central: 2023-11-16; Maker: Not stated; GFCO certified product list: Not stated. Checked 2026-10-23.
  • Funyuns (Onion) No gluten ingredients, not labeled Why: no gluten ingredients in the ingredient list and no gluten-free claim. Source date: USDA FoodData Central: 2021-03-19; USDA FoodData Central: 2023-08-31; USDA FoodData Central: 2023-10-26; USDA FoodData Central: 2023-11-16; GFCO certified product list: Not stated. Checked 2026-10-23.
  • PopCorners (Sea Salt) Labeled gluten-free Why: maker says gluten-free and the product is on the GFCO list. Source date: USDA FoodData Central: 2022-05-23; USDA FoodData Central: 2023-09-14; USDA FoodData Central: 2023-11-16; Maker: Not stated; GFCO certified product list: Not stated. Checked 2026-10-23.
  • SunChips (Original) Contains gluten Why: ingredients list wheat. Source date: USDA FoodData Central: 2021-03-19; USDA FoodData Central: 2023-09-14; USDA FoodData Central: 2023-11-16; GFCO certified product list: Not stated. Checked 2026-10-23.
  • Ruffles (Original) Labeled gluten-free Why: maker says gluten-free. Source date: USDA FoodData Central: 2021-03-19; USDA FoodData Central: 2023-11-16; Maker: Not stated; GFCO certified product list: Not stated. Checked 2026-10-23.
  • Tostitos (Original Restaurant Style) No gluten ingredients, not labeled Why: no gluten ingredients in the ingredient list and no gluten-free claim. Source date: USDA FoodData Central: 2023-04-27; USDA FoodData Central: 2023-10-26; USDA FoodData Central: 2023-11-16; GFCO certified product list: Not stated. Checked 2026-10-23.

Recipes change. The package label always wins over this page.